WWE – The Nostalgia

I’m 23 years old now and yet I find myself watching the main event of Wrestlemania 28 with the enthusiasm of a 12 year old boy. I started watching WWE (which was WWF earlier) when I was a little kid and that’s thanks to my brother, who was a big fan. I remember how I used to adore the guys like Bret “Hit Man” Hart, Hulk Hogan, Steve Austin, Shawn Michaels and many others. I used to admire The Undertaker too, although he used to creep me out with his evil-ish looks and the whole “Deadman” persona. The arguments I used to have with my friends as to which wrestler was the most dominant, my brother and I watching it on TV almost religiously, the collection of postcards with pictures of WWE stars on them…these are the memories that I’ll always cherish. Wow, those were the days. I was just a kid who saw those huge guys as heroes. I continued to follow WWE on a regular basis for years. Later on, guys like The Rock and Triple H were also among my top favorites. However, around the time when I completed my Junior High School, my interest in the WWE kind of faded away and I moved on to other things.

I’ve come across a lot of people who make a fuss about how fake the WWE is, how watching it is dumb and a waste of time. And honestly, I’ve found that quite annoying. That’s because these haters think they’re the smart ones and the millions of fans who’re loyal followers of the WWE, are a big bunch of imbeciles. Now, everybody knows that the wrestling in WWE is not actually real. They build characters, create storylines and so on. And the people in this business admit that. WWE is all about drama and entertainment. And the fans enjoy it for exactly what it is. So the haters who still live under the delusion that they’ve made a genius discovery, really need to do some research.

I personally have a lot of respect for these wrestlers (or performers). Why? Yeah they sure practice well and probably even have a couple of rehearsals before the actual performance. But aren’t they putting their bodies on the line just to entertain the people? This business is risky and anything can happen. One error on the performer’s part could still result in his/her bones getting shattered, serious neck or back injury..or something even worse. I still freak out when I watch these guys perform some high flying maneuvers and other stunts.

One bad accident can screw their career and/or physical well-being. So I feel they deserve the appreciation and respect.

Although I’m not a regular viewer of WWE anymore, I still do like to catch certain events which involve my favorite performers, just for the sake of memories. That brings me back to the main event of Wrestlemania 28, “The Rock vs. John Cena”, in which The Rock won, much to my delight. Who doesn’t like Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson? The guy’s got charisma and he’s quite an excellent performer. No wonder he’s doing fairly well in Hollywood.

I never really liked John Cena, despite his popularity. On the contrary, I had always found him to be annoying. And the fact that he has become “the face of WWE” as many put it, kind of pisses me off. So I was pretty satisfied when he ended up losing against The Rock.

Yes, even today, I do turn into a child when I watch it. In fact I still get the chills sometimes, when I watch the dramatic entrance of The Undertaker. I get goosebumps when The Rock delivers one of his signature moves, “The People’s Elbow” on his opponents. I still enjoy listening to his cheesy catchphrases. Sometimes it’s like watching a sitcom. Well, I guess I’ll always have an emotional attachment with the WWE, for the nostalgic childhood memories that it evokes.

Leave a Reply

